Category Archives: Events

9th Gawai Dayak Carnival at Redeems Centre at Kampung Apar, Singai

DBNA Central Executive Committees joined 1,000 people attended the 9th Gawai Dayak Carnival at Redeems Centre at Kampung Apar, Singai, which featured cultural dance performances. 9 door longhouse was erected for visitors to enjoy the atmosphere of the Bidayuh hospitality with authentic foods and ‘tuak tobuh’.

Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said ‘The Gawai celebration is a significant festival in Sarawak which can contribute to the country’s tourism industry’

He said the celebration, which falls in June every year, could become a major tourist attraction due to its uniqueness and Sarawak was already well-known for its strong unity and harmonious multiracial society.

He is confident with what Sarawak has to offer, it can continue to attract more tourists and help pull tourists to Malaysia, adding the unity of people in Sarawak was something everyone should be proud of and must be preserved.

He said a united people were the backbone of the county, pointing out that without unity the country would not be able to move forward and become a high income and developed nation by 2020.

Also present were Yang di-Pertua Negeri Tun Abdul Taib Mahmud and wife Toh Puan Ragad Kurdi Taib, Chief Minister Tan Sri Adenan Satem and State Minister’s and Civil servants.

JAKOA visit to Kampung Skuduk and DBNA Headquarters

A team comprises 10 members of Jabatan Kemajuan Orang Asli (JAKOA) had a working visit to Sarawak, specifically to the Bidayuh area to learned about our success on documentation of the NCR land in which titles had been given to the land owners by the Land and Survey Department.

Their visit was organised by the Chief Minister Office to Kampung Skuduk, Siburan. They arrived at the village around 10.00 AM and were welcomed with Bidayuh tranditional music and dances performed by the troupes of Kampung Skuduk. Those receiving them were YB Datuk Roland Sagah Wee Inn, Deputy DUN speaker and ADUN N.17 Tarat, the President of DBNA Datu Ik Pahon Joyik, Temenggong Austin Dimin, Mr Micheal Dawi, Director in the Chief Minister Office, Ms Alicia Tay (Assistant Director of CMO), Mr Johan Achu Jupaw (Senior Accountant), Mr Zamahari Haji Saidi the acting Resident Officer of Kuching, Mr Wilson Spilak the SAO of Sub-district of Siburan, the village chief KK Silbey anak Nobek and many others.

The delegates from JAKOA were led by the Department Director Datuk Mohd Sani bin Mistam and his officers.

KK Silbey anak Nobek welcomed them to his village and briefed them on his village’s development and planning. He also briefed the delegates on the history of the village where the community of Kampung Skuduk was first moved to the lowland from Kampung Chupak. Kampung Skuduk was established in 1952 and ever since, paddy and rubbers have become the main source of income.

YB Datuk Roland Sagah Wee Inn also thanked the delegates for choosing Kampung Skuduk as the village to do their field study. In his speech, he mentioned about the fast development in Kampung Skuduk in addition to tourism spots like the cave and hot spring, which can be visited by tourists. The NCR land documentation project in Kampung Skuduk was not easy as there were many issues to settle, which delayed the project for a while.

Datu Ik Pahon gave brief presentation of the DBNA Land Documentation project to the delegates of JAKOA. The Land Documentation for Kampung Skuduk started way back in 2007 and on 12 Feb 2012, the village folks finally received their land titles from the Land and Survey Department of Sarawak. Kampung Skuduk was DBNA’s first pilot project for the Land Documentation. With the help of the Global Positioning System (GPS), the work became easier as the devices were connected directly to the satellite and the coordination can be saved in the devices for mapping to be done.

DBNA Land Documentation system helps Land and Survey Department to give land titles faster as most of the work have already been done by the village committees earlier. Most of the disputes are solved within the community itself.

Visit to DBNA Headquarters

From Kampung Skuduk, the delegates went to visit to DBNA Headquarters at Jalan Kumpang, and were further briefed on DBNA’s programs especially on the word list compilations, Multi Language Education (MLE) and the play schools which have been taught in few villages in their respective mother tongue.

While in DBNA the delegates were shown to a mini expo displayed and after which a briefing by Vice President Mr Chali Ungang on the DBNA on-going programs for the communities and also the high achievers Bidayuh in the federal cabinet and the state including Olympic bronze medalist Ms Pandelela Rinong.

Handing over the memento to the head of the delegates YBhg Datuk Mohd Sani bin Mistam by Vice President Mr Joseph Jindy, followed with a tour to the buildings around DBNA and photo session with the delegates as a remembrances.

Also presence was Vice President Ms Jimas Jihel, Sec-Gen Mr Jubilant Austinway, Assistant Sec-Gen Mr Anga Solep, Assistant Treasurer Dr Clarence Jerry, Exco Mr Paul Akiu, Exco Ms Nancy Mongin, Exco Mr Jeanoth Sinel, DBNA Kuching Tengah Branch Vice Chairman Mr Jack Oduin and Ms Ani Solep the Secretary for Sarawak Bidayuh Graduates Association (BGA).

12 June 2014

Datu Ik Pahon is still the President of DBNA

During the 7th Triennial General Assembly of DBNA that was held at its premise at Jalan Kumpang on 7 June 2014, the new line-up for DBNA was a mixed of old and new faces in the committee after the election of her supreme council members. 17 Branches sent their delegates and observers for this 7th TGA. Ms Ani Solep was appointed as a returning officer during the TGA.

Datu Ik Pahon anak Joyik won uncontested and will run for another term as the President of DBNA for 2014 – 2017.

Mr Boniface Anat anak Litis won the Deputy President after a 3 cornered fight for the post. Vice President 1 won by Mr Joseph Jindy anak Peter Rosen, Vice President 2 won by Mr Chali anak Ungang and Vice President 3, Ms Jimas anak Jihel after 4 approved nominations out of 6 submissions with 2 nominations disqualified for the 3 posts of Vice Presidents.

Another 6 unopposed positions (only 1 name was being nominated) in the Supreme Council for the posts as follows:

Secretary General: Mr Jubilant Austinway
Assistant Secretary General: Mr John Angga@Loren anak Solep
Treasurer General: Mr Asem anak Linkin
Asistant Treasurer General: Dr Clarence Jerry
Information and Publicity: Mr Joseph Beron
Cultural and Tradisional: Mr Stephen Sundin

The Ordinary Exco members were heavily contested with 10 nominations submitted for 8 vacant posts. The followings are the list of winning candidates:

1. Dr Kismet anak Hong Ping
2. Nancy Anak Mongin
3. Yunus Apok
4. Paul Akiu anak Bandat
5. Capt Bernard Idit
6. Genot anak Sinel @ Jeannoth Sinel
7. James Nahar anak Goel
8. George Sikien Sunow

Congratulation to all winners.